Bronx Masquerade- Nikki Grimes

Image

I. Love. This. Book! I loved it so much that I encourage anyone who hasn’t read to go pick it up now.  I read it in like two hours, so it won’t take up much of your time.  And it’s well worth your time.  Especially if you’re going to be a teacher.  I found it inspiring and beautiful.  Loved it! 

This book follows the written works of eighteen high school students, all of whom are facing different life problems.  After each chapter is a poem written by one of the students.  This book reminded me of the movie “Freedom Writers”.  I hope that when I’m a teacher I can inspire my students to write anything, poetry, fiction, everything!  After reading this book I realize that I want to hold an Open Mic every Friday.  I think that this would be a great way to get kids talking and sharing.  It would help them create their own individual personalities.  It would help them become more brave and would help with communication skills. I love the idea of an Open Mic and wish my high school had one when I was there.

This book is definitely going on my classroom bookshelf.  It’s beautiful and may inspire some of my students to write poetry or anything they are comfortable with.  I may even use it for a poetry unit.  Hmmm….I see a lesson plan forming….

2 thoughts on “Bronx Masquerade- Nikki Grimes

  1. So glad you enjoyed it! I recently read Nikki Grimes’s newest novel, Words with Wings. The CSC library has it and I think you’d like it–very short verse novel about a middle-school girl (I think she’s in middle school) who discovers her talent for writing.

Leave a comment