Still Afraid

Although I’ve been in several classes with inspiring teachers, watching videos and reading articles or posts about becoming a teacher that will help in the education revolution, I’m still very frightened to proceed down the path I have chosen.  I think being afraid is normal, many students in college change their majors several times before they find something that they want to do for the rest of their life.  I know I want to be a teacher, but I just don’t know if I’m ready.

I guess the only thing that will make me get over my fear is to face it and try my best.  I know that I want to change a student’s life, and I know that in order to do that I need to be inspiring like all my previous and present teachers.  I just am afraid to go out into the world, fresh from college with all these new ideas, and bring them into a school that’s focused on tradition.

We once watched a video with Will Richardson as the speaker, that told us that we need confusion to transform education.  I guess it’s a good thing that I am confused and afraid, I just don’t like the way it feels.  I guess I just want to be in control, and that’s the feeling I need to let go.

One thought on “Still Afraid

  1. I love your honesty here. There are also a lot of ways to work with young people and make a difference in their lives without being a teacher, so do keep that in mind! Teaching is certainly something that I can find scary to do–and especially found scary when I was a new teacher. Fear of public speaking! Fear of chaos! Fear of making huge mistakes and ruining kids’ lives! Fear is probably what drives me to constantly be learning, improving, revising my practice, trying to be better, do better.

Leave a Reply

