November Project

frustrated learning

NaNoWriMo did not work very well for me this year.  I had a great idea in my head and stuck with it throughout this month, but I didn’t get very many words.  For the first few days I was on track and then I just ran out of juice.  I reread what I had written, which is pretty much a NaNoWriMo sin, and hated it.  I couldn’t go anywhere with what I had read.  So NaNoWriMo was a fail this year.

But I did not give up on my learning project though.  I finally drew the tattoo my artist asked me to draw.  I have yet to hear what the client thinks of it, but my artist loves it, as well as several other friends.  So my fingers are crossed.  It would be awesome to see my drawing on someone’s body.  It just sounds crazy, to think about seeing my drawing walking around town.

I want to use what I have learned to help me inspire students to seek out their passions.  I hated drawing, for the longest time, until I watched my tattoo artist drawing.  It gave me a push to try drawing, and that little push is what gave me something to do when I feel stressed or out of sorts.  Drawing lets me mull over my thoughts while still keeping my body and brain active.  I want to help kids achieve this same feeling.  I want to help them find their passion and help them ignite the light to reach their goals and passions.

Even though I failed at NaNoWriMo I still learned a valuable lesson.  Failure is normal.  It happens and I just have to learn from it and move on.  I’m not going to stop writing, and I’m not going to let my failure haunt my mind.  I have to let it go and move on to a new project.

Failure is ok.  Calm down

2 thoughts on “November Project

  1. I think the problem with NaNoWriMo is that it doesn’t promote sustainable writing habits. You might like to try #WriteDaily30–starts tomorrow! I’ll tweet you a link to the post that explain it on Linda Urban’s blog. To have an idea and stick with it throughout the month, though, sounds like success to me. Some people like to read their work in progress and revise as they go; others like to draft all at once and then read what they’ve got.

  2. I completely understand the NaNoWriMo problems. My problem was not being able to find a topic that worked for me. Great job on your drawing though! I am glad that you found a project that let your passions show!

Leave a Reply

