Ash- Malinda Lo

Image

Ash, the lesbian Cinderella.  Honestly, I still don’t know how to feel about this book.  It’s been weeks since I’ve put this book down and I still don’t know how to feel about it.  I am a fantasy novel lover, but this one didn’t quite hit home for me.  I thought the writing was beautiful, definitely something to model my own writing on, but the story itself wasn’t that great for me. 

My favorite part of the book and the character, Ash, is that she does things her way, no matter what.  No one can put her down or force her to do things a way that she doesn’t want to.  I guess I liked the fairies, but for the longest time I didn’t understand their purpose in the story.  I ended up rooting for Sidhean, the male fairy, but alas, Ash falls for the huntress instead. 

All in all, not my favorite fantasy novel but I did like the unexpected ending.  I like that the author took a well known story and twisted it to fit her own ideas.  It was an interesting story, just not my favorite.

8 thoughts on “Ash- Malinda Lo

  1. I was rooting to Sidhean too, I thought he would be a good love for her to find since he seemed pretty devoted to her already. But the ending sure did surprise me. I didn’t expect it to take the lesbian turn. But I did find the ending pretty satisfactory. And since it follows along the lines of a fairy tale then all the little things that didn’t make sense do make sense because they don’t need to much of a purpose, they’re just there as she falls in love with someone great, but not the prince.

  2. I started it and got through the first chapter or so, but now I am having a hard time picking it up again. I have heard a few people say that they like the style of writing, but not the content in general.

  3. Brittany, I haven’t yet read this book yet and to be honest I am a little intimidated by it. Unlike you, I don’t enjoy fantasy and I am really hoping that I will be able to enjoy reading this book. I thought it was interesting that you started to root for one of the characters because I tend to do that in books, also.

  4. I have not read this book yet but after reading you blog post it seems that Ash is an independent person that is willing to do anything! There are fairies in the book? If you don’t mind me asking, how do those tie into the story? Maybe I have to read the book first in order to understand the story line…

  5. The fairies were kind of a replacement of Cinderella’s fairy godmother. Sidhean, the main fairy guy, was the one who gave her extravagant gifts, like the ball gown, that last only for a little while. It’s an interesting take on the classic story of Cinderella, just not my favorite rewrite of the story. I hope you enjoy it when you start it.

  6. I have heard some similar comments about this book; the writing was beautiful, but the story, not so much. I did like the twist that Ash had as far as the legendary tale of Cinderella is concerned, but I felt that as I was reading it, I got lost at some points in the story. I am not a big fantasy reader, but I do think that it was an okay book. High school students, or even middle school students may want to give this book a try.

  7. I don’t have anything positive to write about the book. I will say the online reviews I looked at were very divided. People either love or very much don’t like Ash. Me? I ended up being a fan of one of the step sisters.

  8. It wasn’t really easy for me to get through this story either. I will be honest, it took me about a month to get through this book. I kept catching myself reaching for other books, while putting this one aside. I did finally get through it though. I think I had such a hard time with it because I couldn’t relate to it at all. I am glad that I am not the only one that wasn’t a fan of this book.

Leave a comment