“The Fault in Our Stars”-John Green

ImageOkay, the word that means so much more in this book than in any other context.  Okay, the word I keep telling myself.  It’s all going to be okay.  But it’s not okay.

John Green has somehow found a way to melt my heart and then stomp in its puddle.  And while this feeling is not pleasant, an author has never been able to cause this feeling in me…ever.  I don’t want to spoil this book for anyone who has never read it, just be prepared to be crushed.

I love this book.  I was skeptical at first; all of my classmates were saying, “I’ll buy you three boxes of Kleenex.  You’re gonna need them.” That isn’t exactly encouraging, but I was determined not to cry.  Until a certain twist in the story wrenched the tears from my unwilling eyes.  I texted my English professor, “The Fault in Our Stars. Page 214. Why?!?!?!”

I have never texted a teacher a message that has to do with books. Ever. John Green is my writing hero, and I love him, but I also wish he didn’t have to do what he did.  But of course then the story would never be as good as it is.  It’s realistic, it’s scary, and it’s heartbreaking, but it’s so good.  I don’t know how else to describe this feeling.  I don’t even know what this feeling is.

One more thought on “The Fault in Our Stars”.  I refuse, absolutely refuse, to see the movie.  Not because I think it’ll be terrible, on the contrary I think it will be an amazing movie.  Not because I don’t want to sit in a theater and cry until my eyes melt and fall out of my head.  No, it’s because I don’t want to ruin the image John Green has painted in my head of these characters.  I don’t want to lose the image I have of Augustus Waters and Hazel.  So I refuse.  That is all.

the-fault-in-our-stars

8 thoughts on ““The Fault in Our Stars”-John Green

  1. I am super glad that this book was able to give you the feelings that you are describing. I honestly can say that I expected the book to end the way that it did, but I was most impressed with was the way the main character, Hazel, and even Augustus, developed throughout the book. I was convinced that at the end, Hazel was no longer a teenager; she was an adult.
    I love how the feelings of both of the characters in the book are expressed. Very good book, very realistic, and we can learn a lot form reading this book.

  2. Brittany, after reading your response to “The Fault in Our Stars” I really REALLY want to read this book now! I love books that can bring out so much emotion in a person. In my opinion, that makes the author an amazing writer if they can do that. I think its sometimes hard to find an author like that. I just finished reading the book “Speak” so if you have not read that one yet, I recommend it because it is also a book that brings out a lot of emotion. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars” I can’t wait to read it now!

  3. I’m not sure I ever got a text from a student about a book either! It was AWESOME!! I have to say that I totally didn’t see the twist coming in Fault in Our Stars. I don’t know if I will see the movie either. Maybe. You might like Stephen Chbosky’s Perks of Being a Wallflower too.

    1. This was a tough book to get through… CRUSHED diffidently covers the feeling…..The movie may have the same effect on the audience that Terms of Endearment did or Steel Magnolias did.

  4. I haven’t seen either of those. I may have to check those out, although I’m not sure if I can handle anymore “crying” books or movies, there’s been entirely too many this semester!

Leave a Reply

